My Top BL Manga Artists

I never thought I’d do a post like this, but since I’ve been into BL for around.. 2 years, I have to write my faves.  It’s not in any order, since doing so would mean that one’s better than the other, which is something I cannot do.  Another post will be made about favorite BL manga, since my top fave BL manga is done by a josei author. XD

On with the list!

Nakamura Asumiko: I first became acquainted with Nakamura-sensei’s work when my group took on “Anata no tame nara Doko made mo.”  At first I really wasn’t into the art, but by the time I saw (and read the first chapter of) “Barairo no Hoo no Koro” I became a diehard fan.  It only grew when I started checking out “J no Subete,” which, to me, is one of her most popular works.

Seriously, give her a shot.  If not for the art, then for the awesome (and sometimes comedic) plotlines.

Kumota Haruko: An up-and-coming BL author, Kumota-sensei is an author that can really pull at the heartstrings.  Her one-shot manga “Mimi-kun no Boy no Kisetsu” (and the one-shot sequel, “Mimi-kun no Heart no Earring”) plays nicely on the theme of being true to yourself, and liking yourself the way you are.  Her 3-chapter series, “Nobara,” is equally emotional.

Ishino Aya: Ishino-sensei has 4 tanks out at the moment, but the one that stands out the most is her series “Tsubaki Biyori.”  A slice-of-life series with short chapters, it is more shounen-ai than straight out BL.  And even though her art isn’t as…flowy as, say, Ootsuki-sensei’s, it’s the plot that grabs you.

Ootsuki Miu: Now, fans of hardcore yaoi have many to choose from, and Ootsuki-sensei is another one.  Why do I like her?  Her art is gorgeous and she isn’t shy about drawing sex scenes, either.  Oh, and  her uke’s tears.  They’re very well-done.  Did I mention that her art is gorgeous? XD

Yamane Ayano: What kinda BL fan would I be if I didn’t list Yamane?  “Viewfinder” is one of her most popular works, and for good reason–it’s the hardest (in terms of sexual content) that I’ve seen.  Though the sex tones down a bit after that first chapter, it’s still a darn good read.  “Crimson Spell” is yet another gem of hers that I can’t seem to get enough of.  And did I mention that her art is seriously one of the best I’ve seen?

These four five mangaka are artists whose work I will check out NO. MATTER. WHAT.

[List will be updated at unknown points in time.]


4 responses to “My Top BL Manga Artists

  • crazyanimegyrl

    Ootsuki-san!!!! 😀 love, love loveeeeee!!!!

    Also:
    I love Yamane Ayano, Naono Bohra, Miyamoto Kano and a few more that I’m trying to contain the Yaoigyrl in me because i’m at work posting!!!!! O.O LOL

  • 2010 in review | I Like What I Like

    […] My Top BL Manga Artists May 2010 1 comment 4 […]

  • Junnie Tsukimiya

    You have some real good taste here, I got to say *smiles* (High 5 for Kumota Haruko, YAY *W*)

    & thank you for recommending Ootsuki Miu, her art is truly pretty & I really love her way of dealing with those teary eyes, an instant hook-up *A*

    [Another post will be made about favorite BL manga, since my top fave BL manga is done by a josei author. XD]

    Coincidence, the ones that are top on my list are done by Jousei author as well ^O^ Looking forward to see your list =D

Leave a comment